In which our heroine abducts a Maltese terrier and acquires a lot of yarn

Here is the story:

I dropped my Shutterbug (new blog-name for the daughter) off at her friend’s house for a sleepover, yay! As I was leaving, I happened to notice a dog wandering along the road – you see, I am the kind of person who notices things like this because I *love* my babydog with an intensity that people usually reserve for human offspring and I would be *devastated* to lose her. In fact, my general policy of noticing such things has led to being instrumental in several joyous reunions.

So, I’ve noticed wandering white fluffball dog and gone on my way. Then I get to the round-about at the end of the road and BEHOLD! A sign! Somebody has lost a white Maltese named Ella, with a red collar.

I turn around, as you do. This Maltese is uncollared – but she could have lost it, right? And this is a she, and she is wandering aimlessly. As chance would have it Pixie’s dog crate is in the back, so I bundle “Ella” into the crate and drive down to the round-about so I can ring the number on the sign.

The lovely lady and her daughter meet me, and… it’s not their dog. Their dog is actually a Bichon Frise, which most people couldn’t tell from a Maltese if their life was at stake. I was sad, because I feel for people who have lost their doggies. Ella has been gone a week, so things aren’t looking good for them.

However, I am now a dog-napper. I have abducted a dog that was happily minding it’s own business, trotting along the side of the road. Feeling guilty as hell, I return to the scene of the crime. Again, fate was on my side – the friends that Shutterbug is staying with happen to be walking down the road to visit the park as I turn up. Further conversation reveals that this dog is prone to patrolling the road. I let the dog out, she sniffs my feet and trots around wagging her tail in a friendly kind of way, then she toddles off up the road home.

Moral of the story: THAT’S what you get for doing the right thing *and* for Bob’s sake, people, keep your dogs fenced!

NOTE: I texted the lovely lady to let her know that this dog is often wandering the streets in that area, hoping that it might cut down on raised and dashed hopes for her.

In other news, Spotlight had a sale and I had a giftcard.

For those who aren’t familiar, Spotlight is the equivalent of Michael’s or Joanne’s or somesuch “big box” art and craft store. Most of that yarn is Moda Vera Signorina, I bought 10 balls of the beautifully gothy purple and black, 8 balls of black and 6 balls of red. They were $1 each – too good to pass by. There are two balls of Moda Vera Pure Wool, for my yarn sista who is making Cat Bordhi’s Jester Tentacle hat. Also, a short length 2.75mm needle for my current WIP. How much did all this cost me? $25. But wait! I hear you say, didn’t you get 24 balls at $1 each? How does that work?

It works when you catch sight of a magazine out of the corner of your eye, with a voucher for $10 off when you spend $20 or more. A magazine just sitting there next to the register, all innocent-like. If you pay $1 for that magazine, you get $10 off – and that’s how it’s done, ladies and gentlemen.

Leave a Reply

