Super Secret Squirrel Stuff

As with a heck of a lot of knitting bloggers (so many that you are probably going to get sick of hearing about it), most of the knitting I’ve been doing lately is super secret for Christmas time.

However, there are a few people who already know what they are getting or who wouldn’t know how to find this blog if you gave them a direct URL to it and *those* things I can share.

That is, as soon as I can get to my camera. My darling little photographer is having an absolute field day taking pictures of projects that I did years ago, so the backlog will shortly be remedied.

*wresting the camera from child*

Ahem

001

This is Gir, from Invader Zim. He’s an awesome little free pattern from April Draven, who is immensely talented. My daughter LOVES Invader Zim, but especially Gir who is charmingly dim-witted. He was supposed to be a Christmas present, but I have not managed to pry him from her grasp since I embroidered his quirky little smile, so I doubt very seriously he will end up under the tree.

013This spectacularly dark and undetailed looking creation is actually very nice in person (now that I’ve written that I think, hey – that could apply to some online friends).  It’s Jared Flood’s Smokin’ from Son of Stitch’n’Bitch in Ebano Dark Green from Ice Yarns.

I’m gonna be up front here, even with the errata and YEARS of knitting from pattern experience, some the instructions tripped me up – especially around the shoulder shaping. I was also very tricksy and knitted the button band and shawl collar on by picking up one stitch from the edge every row and then decreasing it away on the next row.

I’m surprised how nice the yarn is! I expected something a lot scratchier given the price but it is quite soft, I know that good wash and block will make it the perfect amount of squooshy.

010

This is Drops 119-21, a cute knitted lace bolero that I made for my mummy. She wanted one of those trendy mint greens that are doing the rounds this summer, but I couldn’t find any! Funny how it’s fashionable in clothing, but you can go jump if you want to knit with it! Anyhow, I used some Bamboo Worsted from ICE yarns that I bought a while ago.

I had no problem following the instructions for this pattern, it’s one of Drop Design’s better written ones. It’s such a shame that ICE have discontinued this yarn, it’s so soft and delicious. If I had to say there was a failing to this yarn it would be a tendency towards splittiness.

005

This was marked down at Spotlight on the weekend, $2 a ball… It’s a bit of a novelty thing, there were other colours that looked a bit weird to be honest. I think this will actually make a really nice “hitting-the-town-painting-it-pink” going out camisole or something. Hmmm….

 

 

Leave a Reply

