Potato Chip Pariah

I tried to make a potato chip scarf. The plan was to make one each for my MIL and SIL. It was an epic failure. Most of the patterns follow the simple formula of:

CO 20

k8, turn, knit back

k6, turn, knit back

k4, turn, knit back

Knit across

Repeat

The first time I cast on I was working from my memory of the patterns I had read the night before. It went like this:

CO 20

k8, turn, knit back

k8, turn, knit back

k6, turn, knit back

k6, turn, knit back

k4, turn, knit back

k4, turn, knit back

Knit across

Repeat

I wrapped my turns and picked them up when I knit across, as you do. This was looking awesome. It was going to turn out great! I was so happy with it until I realised that I was using up the yarn at an astonishing rate and would therefore run out, with little likelihood of being able to procure that colourway again.

So I ripped it all out and started again, this time following the pattern correctly. Disappointment ensued. In comparison the swirly beauty of my first attempt, it just looked lame. Disillusioned, I attempted to “correct” for this by using a heavier weight yarn, but it was clearly too acrylicky to be hung about one’s neck and WHAT THE HECK WAS I THINKING casting it on in the first place.

I tried another version of the scarf, which was intended to corkscrew, you can’t see anything happening for a while and I’m not sure why I’m continuing to try as I clearly will not have enough yarn to finish the job.

So I broke out the Sensual Crochet and started making the Vintage Lace Scarf in the viscose yarn of which I have so very very much. It is deliciously slippery and that makes it very hard to use. It also snags and catches very easily on the finished product, but SCARF! I thought. A delicate ethereal scarf! It will work!

So work was begun and it was looking fabulous, but the yarn is so slippery and a bugger to work with and I thought (again – BRAIN! Why must you question my every move?) is it worth it? After a serious ponder, the answer is – yes, but not if you are going to give it away – only for you!

Heeding my brain’s wisdom, I sought another option. Especially since I had to make two of the item in question.

I’m not sure why, but I love the flowerdy scarf at Dawn’s Crochet Blog. So I set off knowing I only had two out of the three colours needed, and in all honestly  I should probably have five colours, since the object is to make two scarves the same but in different colours.

So there I was tootling along, making motifs in scratchy Marvel acrylic and not being satisfied but having long ago lost my joie de vivre for this particular quest for scarves of gifting. I never thought I’d say it, but Lincraft saved the day.

Leave a Reply

