The Never Ending Dressing Gown

When I started the project I understood that it was a massive undertaking. Little did I know how very long it would drag on…

I began knitting the Dressing Gown published in Romantic Style by Jennie Atkinson. *Sigh*. I look back now and can recognise how my ambition got the better of me. But it’s so beautiful! And it will be so comfy!

This is my progress after almost three years – pardon the slight blurriness (my daughter is ten and is working towards a career in photography so she takes a great many of my photos).

Whenever I work on this I think of the Earth’s Children books by Jean M. Auel, I devoured the first four whilst knitting this.

I bought 24 balls of Dinamico wool from ICE yarns – 30% wool, 40% acrylic and 30% polyamide. The yarn has only a little of that plasticky, sticky feel that acrylics often have. I’ve found that the softness of the yarn overall makes this slight plastickyness easy to overlook. Originally, I used Symphonie Knitpro interchangeables but the yarn just did not slide well on the wood and it slowed me down to a frustrating degree, therefore I was ridiculously happy when the Nova tips arrived as a Christmas gift (a year after I began the garment). Honestly, I would have been ridiculously happy anyway, those Knitpro needles are the best knitting investment I’ve ever made.

This is all the yarn that I have left, and there is a LOT more left to go on the gown. I have used 8 balls so far. I am a leetle worried that I won’t make it. Dinamico isn’t even being made anymore, and past experience tells me that even if I could order another batch it likely wouldn’t blend. Eeep.  I find it all a wee bit irritating, since I always check the approx length in a ball and the weight when I substitute yarns, and both matched. It rankles even more because I ordered an extra FIVE balls. I’m tempted to just cross my fingers and plow onwards. If worst comes to worst I will consider a contrasting edging… maybe in cream?

I employ the Never-Ending Dressing Gown as a motivator. You see, this is the one I’ll pull out to work a few rows when I am between projects and I’m deciding what to do next. It is so tedious and the progress made is nigh on invisible, I find it really encourages me to figure out what the hell I’m going to do next so I can put this mo-fo down and get on with it!

This is Pixie, she likes to help Mommy knit. The collective unconscious would have you believe that cats are the ultimate knitter’s companion and yarn menace, but I contend that chihuahuas are far more insidious a threat to your stash and make much better lap warmers. My cat Ben (God rest his soul) was never interested in my yarn or my lap. Pixie, however, has been banned from my studio upon penalty of no cuddles! She has brought this upon herself – largely due to the tangles of yarn I have found strewn up the length of the hallway the few times I forgot to close the door.

Obviously knitting is SUPER FUN since Mommy does it so much…

3 thoughts on “The Never Ending Dressing Gown

  1. Pingback: WIP Weds 2 « Cast-Offs and Cast Aways

  2. Pingback: now we return to our regularly scheduled programming « Cast-Offs and Cast Aways

  3. Pingback: The Case of the Vanishing Mojo | Cast-Offs and Cast Aways

Leave a Reply

